CE 408 Chemical Engineering Plant Design     How can life be so good?!

Registration numbers: 15373, 15344

Time and place: Monday and Wednesday, 2:00-3:20 pm; Baldy 101 and Furnas 1019

Prerequisites: CE 318 (Transport Processes II), CE 329 (Chemical Reaction Engineering), CE 407 (Separations)
Co-requisites: CE 434 (Chemical Systems and Control)

Credits: 4

Instructor: Johannes Nitsche, Furnas 303, 645-1182, nitsche@buffalo.edu
Office hours: Tuesdays at 10:00-11:00 am and Thursdays at 3:00-4:00 pm, Furnas 303, supplemented by Elroy-maticTM open door policy
Elroy-maticTM open door policy: JMN will be happy to answer plant design questions at ANY time; students should feel free to knock on door at ANY time
Design consultations: by regular appointment

Project supervisor: Mr. Paul Ameis, VanDeMark Chemical, p.ameis@vdmchemical.com
Design consultations: by regular appointment

Project supervisor: Ms. Jennifer Barnes, VanDeMark Chemical, j.barnes@vdmchemical.com
Design consultations: by regular appointment

Project supervisor: Mr. Mahesh Biradar, Praxair, Mahesh_Biradar@praxair.com
Design consultations: by regular appointment

Guest lecturer: Dr. David Courtemanche, djcourte@buffalo.edu

Project supervisor and guest lecturer: Mr. Larry Coleman, larrycoleman118@gmail.com
Design consultations: by regular appointment

Project supervisor: Dr. Rich Fickelscherer, Falconeer Technologies, falconeertech@verizon.net
Design consultations: by regular appointment

Project supervisor: Dr. John Peck, Praxair, John_Peck@praxair.com
Design consultations: by regular appointment

Project supervisor: Ms. Jamie Pond, PeroxyChem, jamie.pond@peroxychem.com
Design consultations: by regular appointment

Project supervisor: Dr. William Scharmach, Praxair, William_Scharmach@Praxair.com
Design consultations: by regular appointment

Teaching assistant: Venoos Amiri, Furnas 404, venoosam@buffalo.edu
Office hours: Mondays at 11:00 am -- 12:00 noon, Furnas 404

Graders:
Viswa Phani Srinivas Marthi, viswapha@buffalo.edu
Alisa Chakraborty, alisacha@buffalo.edu

Course description: Chemical engineering principles for the design of chemical plants and process equipment. Process flow sheet development; material and energy balances; equipment specification; heat integration; fundamentals of engineering economics and profitability analysis; strategies in process design, synthesis and optimization; process safety and hazards analysis.

This means: By the time you finish this course you will be exceptionally cool (check out the before and after photos below)

This is you before taking CE 408            This is you after taking CE 408